h1

Investing for the future

June 23, 2011

Again, please read what I write with a nano speck of salt.   I am in a situation where I find myself looking for answers to questions which I have asked other people but have not gotten a clear cut answer.

Therefore, I wil blog it so I can get my thoughts out.

I caught the idea of investing.  Frankly before I lived Singapore, I did not understand nor did I care about investing for the future…   but living in Singapore and ignoring ivesting is like being in Disneyland and not being able to see Mickey Mouse.

I started “seriously” investing in late 2006 and it felt good.  I bought a fund which was not doing as well as the agressive China mutual funds, but hey it was as safe as it can be.  Modest to mediocre gains relative to the big India and India funds, but hey was fun.  I got some profit sold it and I was no longer a virgin.

I put the money in cash then I moved it into a more agressive mutual fund which was aimed towards the Middle East and Africa markets.  Made some serious gains, but it started to go down so I pulled it out to lock in some profits.  It was still fun.

I did the two without any help from anyone.  I traded online, did all of that, and it was fun.

So I said hell ya!  I want some more of that.  I figured if I invest with the right people with the correct advice, I could make even more money and double the fun.

So I went to a Financial planner.   I said if a dim wit like me can make money, a well dressed, well versed veteran of the investment field is giving me good advice, I can have more fun.

I had basically put triple of what I had invested on my own and put my hands with theses fellows.   a little over a year later.  Its down 30%.  The fun feeling was gone…  It was not fun at all.

So now… a few years later, overall with all my investments,  I have made about 10%.  You say not bad for a market that has been extremely volatile.

Some say,  its only a loss if you cash in your chips right.   Buy & hold!  That should be your strategy mister.  Others say, this is a time for you to take your finances into your hands.  The buy & hold strategy went extinct the same time as the T-rex did.

I listen to many podcasts, read books and magazines and yet again, its been confusing times.  There are a few that I really like.  There is Brian Preston’s the money guyThe Disciplined Investor and Dave Ramsey are the three of my favourites.

Hours of listening to them have not made things clearer.  Which brings me back to my dilemma….  How should I invest?  Anyone?…

Leave a Reply

